Еврейский музыкант Михаил Гофмеклер играет на скрипке. Ок. 1930 г. USHMM (58546), предоставлено Робертом Гофмеклером.
Еврейский музыкант Михаил Гофмеклер играет на скрипке.
Portrait of two Jewish brothers on the day they found each other at the St. Ottilien displaced persons hospital camp in Bavaria. Pictured are survivor Michael Hofmekler (left) and U.S. serviceman Robert Hofmekler (right), June 1945. USHMM (58542), courtesty of Robert W. Hofmekler.
Violinists perform in the Kovno ghetto orchestra

Одно из замечательных воссоединений семьи произошло сразу по окончании войны. В июне 1945 года два брата-еврея - Михаил и Роберт Гофмеклеры встретились после долгой разлуки в восстановительном лагере для перемещенных лиц на территории монастыря Святой Отилии в Баварии. Роберт эмигрировал из Литвы в 1938 году. В январе 1941 года он был завербован на службу в армию США и служил в Европе в 9-ой пехотной, а затем в 10-ой бронетанковой дивизиях. Его старший брат Михаил на протяжении военных лет находился вместе с родителями и сестрой в Ковенском гетто. Скрипач и дирижер оркестра гетто, Михаил Гофмеклер был одной из самых заметных фигур в музыкальном мире гетто. Михаил и восемь других членов оркестра пережили войну, в июне 1945 года они давали концерт для жителей одного из первых послевоенных лагерей для перемещенных лиц.  На территории этого лагеря встретились после семилетней разлуки два брата - единственные уцелевшие представители семьи Гофмеклеров.

Чрезвычайно музыкальная семья Гофмеклеров происходила из литовского города Вильно. Оба родителя, Мотель и Берта, были очень музыкальны. Мотель был известным виолончелистом. В семье росло четверо детей - три сына и дочь. Осенью 1920 года семья переехала в Ковно, здесь Михаил продолжил музыкальное образование. Он был необыкновенно привязан к музыкальным традициям своей родины, и в 1932 году получил награду литовского президента за приверженность литовской народной музыке. После того как в 1940 году Литва была оккупирована Советским Союзом, Михаил Гофмеклер получил пост музыкального директора и дирижера оркестра Национального Радио в Вильно. К этому моменту Роберт уже отправился на поиски счастья в Соединенные Штаты.

Немецкое вторжение летом 1941 года разрушило семью Гофмеклеров. Лео Гофмеклер, его жена и дети попали в Виленское гетто и погибли. Михаил, его сестра и родители, которые оставались в Ковно, оказались в местном гетто. К тому времени, когда гетто было расформировано, из всей семьи в живых оставались только Михаил и уехавший Роберт.

Пока Роберт служил в американских вооруженных силах, Михаил в апреле 1944 года был депортирован в Германию и через лагерь Штутхоф попал в Дахау. В конце апреля 1945 года он был эвакуирован и, наконец, освобожден под Ландсбергом в Баварии. Вместе с другими выжившими евреями из Ковенского гетто, он принимал участие в организации жизни уцелевших в Холокосте, а несколько недель спустя произошло замечательное воссоединение братьев Гофмеклеров в восстановительном лагере для перемещенных лиц на территории монастыря Святой Отилии в Баварии.

Список литературы:

USHMM, E. ed., 1997. Hidden History of the Kovno Ghetto, Boston, New York, Toronto, London: Bulfinch Press.

Portrait of Jewish musician Michael Hofmekler playing the violin, circa 1930. USHMM (58546), courtesy of Robert W. Hofmekler.
Violinists perform in the Kovno ghetto orchestra
Portrait of two Jewish brothers on the day they found each other at the St. Ottilien displaced persons hospital camp in Bavaria. Pictured are survivor Michael Hofmekler (left) and U.S. serviceman Robert Hofmekler (right), June 1945. USHMM (58542), courtesty of Robert W. Hofmekler.
Violinists perform in the Kovno ghetto orchestra

One of the remarkable reunions to take place in the immediate aftermath of the war was that of the Jewish brothers Michael and Robert Hofmekler, in June 1945, at the Saint Ottilien Displaced Persons’ hospital camp in Bavaria.  Robert, having emigrated from his native Lithuania in 1938, was a US Serviceman who had been drafted in January 1941 and had served in Europe with the 9th Infantry and 10th Armoured Division.  Michael, his elder brother, had spent the war years with their parents and sister in the Kovno ghetto.  There he had been a vital figure in the ghetto musical world, not only as a violinist, but also as the conductor of the ghetto orchestra.  Michael and eight other members of the Kovno orchestra survived the war, and these men performed at one of the first post-war Displaced Persons’ camp performances.  It was also in this camp that the sole surviving members of the Hofmekler family saw each other for the first time in seven years.

The Hofmekler family was originally from the Lithuanian city of Vilna, and had a strong musical tradition.  The parents, Motel and Bertha, were quite musical, the father a respected cellist.  They had four children, three boys and a girl.  In the autumn of 1920, the family resettled in Kovno, where Michael continued his musical education.  He was particularly attracted to the musical traditions of his homeland, and in 1932 was decorated by the Lithuanian president for his commitment to Lithuanian folk music. After the Soviet occupation in 1940, he became music director and conductor of the National Radio Orchestra in Vilna.  By then, Robert had already decided to try his luck in the United States.

The German invasion in the summer of 1941 was to destroy the family.  In Vilna, Leo and his wife and children were driven into the ghetto, where they were all to die.  Michael, his sister, and their parents, at the time still in Kovno, were forced into the ghetto there.  By the time the ghetto was dissolved, only Michael and Robert were still alive.

While Robert was performing his tour of duty, Michael had been deported in April 1944 to Germany, through Stutthof to Dachau.  In late April 1945 he was evacuated and was ultimately liberated in the vicinity of Landsberg, Bavaria. He also became involved, along with other surviving Kovno Jews, in the efforts to organize Jewish survivors. A few weeks later the remarkable reunion at the St. Ottilien Displaced Persons' hospital camp occurred.

Sources

USHMM, E. ed., 1997. Hidden History of the Kovno Ghetto, Boston, New York, Toronto, London: Bulfinch Press.